Newfoundland Black Metal Duo ARTACH release “Chronicles of A Black Winter”

For fans Immortal, Satyricon, Darkthrone, Celtic Frost, Venom, Bathory

Newfoundland Black Metal Duo ARTACH release

“Chronicles of A Black Winter”

Artach, an epic and raw two-man black metal band/project (Sruthán: Guitar, Bass, Fíochmhar: Battery, Vokills) based in St. John’s, Newfoundland have unleashed their debut album entitled “Chronicles of a Black Winter”. Just released on February 24th, the full length consists of nine songs including “When The Forest Ends” for which the band released a music video for in the fall of 2019 plus a cover of Celtic Frost’s ‘Jewel Throne’ as a bonus track.

Digging into the inspirations of a few of the songs, the band reveals that the typical “evil” lyrics were not territory they wanted to tread. Instead, a near-mystical connection to the land and in particular to the northern climate of their home is where their hearts lie. The title for the song “When The Forest Ends” was inspired by the recent Amazon rain forest fires. Global climate change also inspired the track “Permafrost” with the twist of what ancient contagion may be unleashed as the arctic warms. It’s not all environmentalism though, as songs like “Frozen in Time” have more of a sci-fi leaning, and “Fire & Ice” questions the end of the universe.

The band adds:
“We have been crafting music for just 9 months and we have been very prolific and felt it was time to release a selection of 9 tracks on an album. We have more songs recorded and more written, and we will keep pumping them out as we head towards a second album. We hope you enjoy our old school black metal approach as we keep things raw and honest.”

Since their formation in the spring of 2019, Artach has been consistently releasing new music. Being from the foggiest, snowiest, wettest, windiest, and gloomiest capital city in Canada, one should not be surprised that this fuels the creation of Black Metal.

Track Listing:
1. Eternal Black Winter (4:58)
2. Permafrost (4:08)
3. Leviathan… Rise (6:38)
4. Ice Raven (5:35)
5. Frozen In Time (4:39)
6. The Fallen Ones (4:29)
7. When The Forest Ends (6:02)
8. Fire & Ice (4:42)
9. Jewel Throne (Celtic Frost cover) (4:00) (Bonus Track)
Album Length: 45:15

“Chronicles of A Black Winter”


DIZASTRA’s Music Video ‘Vae Victus’ Will Make You Saddle Up Your Dragon & Ride Through Hell

DIZASTRA’s Music Video ‘Vae Victus’ Will Make You Saddle Up Your Dragon & Ride Through Hell

For fans of Skeletonwitch, Dissection, Watain, Celtic Frost, Sepultura
DIZASTRA’s Music Video ‘Vae Victus’ Will Make You Saddle Up Your Dragon & Ride Through Hell

From the bowels of Satan’s lair, DIZASTRA has come. After a long wait for their first full-length album, fans can expect to be massacred with “Elder Sun” coming later in 2019.

Following up the 2015 EP ‘Hell’ s Gate’, Montreal based DIZASTRA summons unholy ferocity in their music merging the sounds of black, thrash and melodic heavy metal to coagulate is a distinct sound.
‘Vae Victus’ is the first single from the upcoming album “Elder Sun”. The anthem to riding a dragon through Hades, this track combines all the elements of what makes heavy metal what it is. Bringing together shrieking vocals, pummeling drums, cosmic-threatening bass, and electrifying (literally) solos, ‘Vae Victus’ rides triumph through listeners ears.
The video for ‘Vae Victus’ demonstrates their meager budget and Tolkien level storytelling in a compelling tale of time travel and high adventure. Wizards, warriors, battle, and friendship all come together to dazzle viewers across the globe.
Your steed awaits for a blasphemous sojourn into the abyss.

Watch ‘Vae Victus’ here.

Song Credits:
Written and Performed by: Dizastra
Mixed, Mastered and Recorded by: Carl Roberge
Produced by: Carl Roberge and Dizastra

From the bowels of Satan’s lair, Dizastra has come. Their story begins with veteran performer of Quebec’s Heavy Montreal music festival and Wacken Metal Battle Canada finalist Matt Conti. He joined forces with Denis Stoisin. Together they mixed melody with ferocity, merging the sounds of Black, Thrash, and Melodic Heavy Metal. Within a year of forming, Dizastra released their first EP titled “Hell’s Gate” in 2015. The release brought them recognition as a rising force within the Quebec Heavy Metal scene and national acclaim.
Dizastra’s line-up was solidified in the summer of 2017 with the addition of Nathan Afilalo of Dissension on bass and Petey Giampa of Venomenon on drums. The contributions of these new members summoned new speed and malice to the group’s sound. With the band firmly established, they dug their heels in the trenches and began writing material for their first full-length album.
At long last, the wait is finally over. “Elder Sun” is the next chapter in Dizastra’s legacy that will guarantee them a place amongst Heavy Metal’s elite. Set for release in the fall of 2019, the “Elder Sun” rises.